RSS

Chill Out With Iced Coffee

14 Jun

The heat is on in the Lowcountry! Summer has arrived in the south and it’s only getting hotter. With hot temperatures brings fun in the sun and the need for cold refreshments. One of my favorite cold refreshments is iced coffee, but not just any old iced coffee. When I think of iced coffee, I think of Thai iced coffee.

In the summer of 2004, the Air Force sent me out on my first visit to Thailand to photograph U.S. and Thai military forces conduct a training exercise. Thailand was beautiful, but extremely humid. Just imagine Charleston during its hottest, most humid month but multiply it by 10! (No, I’m not exaggerating). So every day I’d yearn for something cold and refreshing.

One day, while I was exploring the local colors of a market, I saw people sipping an iced drink in a plastic bag through a straw and asked my translator what it was. It was Thai iced coffee. Of course, being the coffee fanatic that I am, I had to try it. As soon as the vendor handed me a bag, I took a big sip. It was cold, strong and very sweet, but there was a distinctive taste I had never had before. It was cardamom and it added that extra bit of unique deliciousness. I found myself wanting it every day. And I did, for the next 25 days that I was there.

So here’s a recipe for Thai iced coffee to try (minus the plastic bag and straw). I’ve also included other iced coffee recipes from around the world. You can try it with the Lowcountry Blend from Sunoco and let us know what you think. Cheers to staying cool and having fun this summer!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 14, 2012 in Caffeinate Charleston

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “Chill Out With Iced Coffee

  1. amcordes

    June 26, 2012 at 10:38 am

    Hi fellow #beanteam-ers! I found this article and I reminded me of this post! Enjoy!

    http://www.foodrepublic.com/2012/06/19/6-ways-pimp-your-iced-coffee

     

Leave a Reply

 
