RSS

Coffee and Skin Cancer

03 Jul

Although I found these articles from my usual news alert, I am going to deviate from my usual media-orientated topic and touch upon an issue that hits close to home. I received about 10 different articles in my recent alerts that highlighted a new study focusing on skin cancer and coffee. This research, as picked up by major news outlets, said coffee consumption can lower one’s risk of skin cancer. Now, as a redhead, I am incredibly susceptible to skin cancer and am hypersensitive about sun exposure. Not to mention, one of my best friends was recently diagnosed with melanoma (she is cancer-free now!) and she is only 21. I saw these articles and KNEW this was what my post needed to be about. Here are some of the different articles for your reading pleasure before I give you my perspective:

MSNBC

Huffington Post

Fox News

US News

To summarize, the articles state that (and the Huffington Post summarizes it well) “Researchers from Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Harvard Medical School have found that there seems to be a relationship between increased coffee intake (meaning the more, the better) and decreased risk of basal cell carcinoma — the most common skin cancer.” It is important to note, however, that this is focused on the most common form of skin cancer, not the most deadly: It does not prove the same for melanoma.

All of this aside, what strikes me as interesting from all of this coverage about coffe and health is that there seems to be some discrepancies. Increased coffee helps prevent skin cancer, but too much coffee has the adverse effect on your heart. What do you think is the best option for coffee drinkers? Do people really drink more than 2 cups a day? How many cups is “too much”?

I think we can all agree that there are health benefits to coffee, but how much should you drink to achieve those results? Where is the happy medium? Nonetheless, a cup of Lowcountry Blend will do you good! It actually sounds pretty refreshing right about now…

OH and before I go, because I, more than some, know skin cancer is a scary and REAL possibility, click HERE to read about how to look for dangerous sun spots. Spreading the word is how we spot these scary things early on.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 3, 2012 in Caffeinate Charleston

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
